Sunday, February 17, 2013


Bill Clinton To Present Streisand Chaplin Award

The Film Society of Lincoln Center's press release today:
The Film Society of Lincoln Center announced today that President Bill Clinton will present the 40th Chaplin Award to Academy Award-winner Barbra Streisand, the first American woman artist to receive credit as writer, director, producer and star of a major feature film, YENTL, during a Gala Ceremony held at Lincoln Center on the evening of Monday, April 22, 2013.
The event will be attended by a host of notable guests and celebrities honoring the international film legend’s groundbreaking career and will feature film and interview clips culminating in the presentation of The Chaplin Award.
The Gala is the Film Society of Lincoln Center’s most significant fundraiser of the year. Tickets to the Gala Tribute and champagne reception will be available for purchase by the general public. For ticketing and additional information, go to
The Film Society’s Annual Gala began in 1972 and honored Charlie Chaplin – who returned to the US from exile to accept the commendation. Other honorees include many of the film industry’s most notable talents, including Alfred Hitchcock, Billy Wilder, Laurence Olivier, Federico Fellini, Elizabeth Taylor, Bette Davis, James Stewart, Robert Altman, Martin Scorsese, Diane Keaton, Meryl Streep, Tom Hanks, Michael Douglas, Sidney Poitier, and most recently Catherine Deneuve.

No comments:

Post a Comment